Ligand-binding Theory and Practice

Course summary: This course will provide basic training in the principles of ligand-binding theory, and will offer participants a chance to analyse their own macromolecular interaction systems using the contemporary advanced methods (SPR, ITC UV-vis, fluorescence spectroscopies, gel filtration), guided by lecturers and tutors who are expert in the design, execution, and analysis of these experiments. Additional lecturers will present other contemporary experimental ligand-binding methods (NMR, MS) and contemporary thinking on the phenomenon of allostery.
+ show speakers and program
Lecturers & Speakers

Andreas Barth, Stockholm, barth@dbb.su.se: vibrational spectroscopies
Andrea Bellelli, Rome, andrea.bellelli@uniroma1.it: hemoglobin allostery
Jannette Carey*, Princeton, jcarey@princeton.edu: ligand-binding basics; SPR tutor
Teresa Carlomagno, EMBL, teresa.carlomagno@embl.de: NMR methods
Danny Charlier, Vreie U. Bruxelles, DCharlie@vub.ac.be: site-specific occupancy
David Dryden, Edinburgh, David.Dryden@ed.ac.uk: entropic mechanisms of allostery
Andrzej Gorecki*, Jagiellonian, andrzej.gorecki@uj.edu.pl: electronic spectroscopies tutor
Rita Grandori, Milan, rita.grandori@unimib.it: mass spectrometry methods
Ruth Nussinov, Tel Aviv, ruthnu@helix.nih.gov: dynamic mechanisms of allostery
Catherine Royer*, CNRS, Montpelier, catherine.royer@cbs.cnrs.fr: fluorescence methods tutor
Bruce Turnbull*, Leeds, W.B.Turnbull@leeds.ac.uk: isothermal titration calorimetry tutor
Wilfred van Gunsteren, ETH, wfvgn@igc.phys.chem.ethz.ch: attribution of binding energies
Wei-Feng Xue*, Kent, W.F.Xue@kent.ac.uk: global and computational approaches tutor

29 Jun - 6 Jul 2014
Nove Hrady
Czech Republic
meeting website