Channels and Transporters

The International School of Biophysics in Erice, Sicily has hosted a course on “Channels and Transporters” four times since 2002. This will be the fifth time it is held.
The intention of the course is to bring together experts in transporter physiology, ion channel biophysics, and structural biology both to teach and to discuss the structure and function of channels and transporters.
Lectures will include didactic presentations on the fundamentals of ion channels and primary and secondary transporters, as well as practical information on patch clamp, biochemical assays, protein purification, X-ray crystallography, molecular dynamics, drug interactions with transporters and channels, and fluorescence microscopy.
Experts will demonstrate the role of channels and transporters in human disease and show how this knowledge has been translated into the clinic. We anticipate each lecturer will provide into an initial didactic session that introduces the topic and provides essential background and methodological information, followed by a state-of-the-art presentation in their field of research.
Finally, leading experts present channels and transporters in light of human disease. Many ad hoc interactions occur between students and lecturers.
Ample time has been allowed for discussion after each session. Additional discussion groups at the end of the day will focus on general principles, and on problems raised by the students. Students will also have the opportunity to present their own data in both oral presentations (“data blitzes”) and poster sessions. There will thus be multiple opportunites for discussion and ad hoc interactions between students and lecturers.
The small town of Erice has a relaxed atmosphere and provides a beautiful setting for the course.
The cost of the course is 100 euros/day, which includes all fees, room, and board.
+ show speakers and program
Invited Speakers



Alessio Accardi

Cornell University
Weill Cornell Medical College
Department of Physiology and Biophysics (BX 75)
1300 York Ave
New York, NY 10065 USA
ala2022@med.cornell.edu
Chloride channels, Ion and lipid transport by a novel homologue of TMEM16 Ca+-activated channel.

Frances Ashcroft

University of Oxford
Department of Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics
Parks Road, Oxford OX1 3PT UK
Frances.ashcroft@dpag.ox.ac.uk
ATP-sensitive potassium channels, diabetes and neurological disease.

Francisco Bezanilla

University of Chicago
GCIS Building Room W244
929 E. 57th Street
Chicago, IL 60637 USA
fbezanilla@uchicago.edu
Voltage-dependent ion channels; The kinetics of voltage sensors.

Olga Boudker

Cornell University
Weill Cornell Medical College
Department of Physiology and Biophysics (BX 75)
1300 York Ave
New York, NY 10065 USA
olb2003@med.cornell.edu
Mechanism of a glutamate transporter homologue: from crystal structures to protein dynamics and energetics.


Laszlo Csanady

Department of Medical Biochemistry,
Semmelweis University,
Budapest H-1094, Hungary
csanady.laszlo@med.semmelweis-univ.hu
Cystic fibrosis transmembrane conductance regulator.


Raul Estevez

University of Barcelona
Dept. de Ciències Fisiològiques - II
Facultat de Medicina i Odontologia
Universitat de Barcelona
4a planta Pavelló de Govern
(Campus de Bellvitge)
Feixa Llarga, s/n
08907 L'Hospitalet Ll.
restevez@ub.edu
Water homeostasis by glial cells: role of chloride channels.


Louis De Felice

Virginia Commonwealth University
Physiology and Biophysics
Sanger Hall, 3-038f
P.O. Box: 980551
Richmond, VA 23298 USA
ljdefelice@vcu.edu
Drug interactions with the dopamine transporter; the channel-transporter interface.


Lucy Forrest

Max Planck Institute for Biophysics
Max-von-Laue-Strasse 3
D-60438 Frankfurt am Main Germany
lucy.forrest@biophys.mpg.de
Using computational tools to understand secondary transport.

David Gadsby

Rockefeller University
D.W. Bronk Building, Room 307
1230 York Avenue
New York, NY 10021 USA
gadsby@mail.rockefeller.edu
Mechanisms of function and dysfunction of the Na/K pump, a model P-type ATPase; CFTR and cystic fibrosis.

Baruch Kanner

Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Faculty of Medicine,
The Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Ein Kerem.
P.O. Box 12271, Jerusalem, 91120 Israel
baruch.kanner@mail.huji.ac.il
Mechanism of Sodium-Coupled Neurotransmitter Transport.


Michael Kavanaugh

University of Montana
Department of Biomedical & Pharmaceutical Sciences

Skaggs School of Pharmacy
College of Health Professions & Biomedical Science
University of Montana
32 Campus Drive
Missoula, MT 59812-1552 USA
Michael.Kavanaugh@mso.umt.edu
Glutmate transporters; biophysics of electrogenic transport.

William Kobertz

University of Massachusetts Medical School
55 N Lake Ave, Worcester, MA 01655 USA
William.Kobertz@umassmed.edu
Developing chemical tools to probe ion channel structure and function.


Emily Liman

University of Southern California
HNB 301
3614 Watt Way
Los Angeles, CA 90089-2520 USA
liman@usc.edu
TRP ion channels in vertebrate sensory systems.

Christopher Miller

Brandeis University
P.O. Box 549110
Waltham, MA 02454-9110 USA
cmiller@brandeis.edu
Fluoride channels and fluoride transporters; chloride channels; the channel-transporter interface.


Poul Nissen

Department of Molecular Biology
University of Aarhus
Science Park
Gustav Wieds Vej 10c
DK-8000 Århus C Denmark
pn@mb.au.dk
Structural studies of pumps and transporters.

Eduardo Perozo

The University of Chicago
GCIS W426
929 East 57th Street
Chicago, IL 60637
eperozo@uchicago.edu
Ion channel permeation; potassium channel structure and function.

Andrew Plested

Leibniz Institute for Molecular Pharmacology
Timoféeff-Ressowsky-Haus
Robert-Rössle-Str. 10
13125 Berlin Germany
plested@fmp-berlin.de
Glutamate receptors: structures and mechanisms of activation.

Michael Pusch

Istituto de Biofisica CNR
Via De Marini, 6
I-16149 Genova Italy
pusch@ge.ibf.cnr.it
CLC channels and transporters: From biophysics to human genetic disease.

Blanche Schwappach

University of Gottingen – Medicine
Dept. of Biochemistry I
Humboldtallee 23
37073 Göttingen Germany
blanche.schwappach@med.uni-goettingen.de
Trafficking mechanisms in the physiological regulation of ion channels; women in science.

Walter Stuehmer

Max Planck Institute for Experimental Medicine
Hermann-Rein-Str. 3
37075 Göttingen Germany
stuehmer@em.mpg.de
Ion channels involved in Cancer.


Robert Tampe'

Goethe University
Institute of Biochemistry
Max-von-Laue-Str. 9
D-60438 Frankfurt/M. Germany
tampe@em.uni-frankfurt.de
Learning Lessons from Self-defense – Transport Machineries in Adaptive Immunity; ABC transporters.

11 Jun - 17 Jun 2014
Erice
Italy
meeting website